Home > Me > A plea for civility

A plea for civility

Sophia,

You will notice that I did not post your most recent comment on my blog.

I want to take a minute to explain why – as I have said, now numerous times, my blog is about fostering constructive debate and expressing my ideas and thoughts. I welcome all opinions, even those that disagree with me, because I believe strongly that the conversation is richer and better because of that.

I will not, however, allow comments that border on vicious and abusive. When we insult and deride other people – and when we suppose to know what is best for others – that is when we can only hurt each other, not help.

I would like you to continue to read, but I will exercise my right to not post any comments that I believe cross the line of civility I believe is essential to this enterprise.

Another note – I wrote to you here in lieu of emailing you because I do not want my email publicized. Please forgive the public forum, but I think this message is one I needed to share with you and the rest of my readers.

Best,
HH

Categories: Me
  1. March 2, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    I fully support you here, Chavi. There’s a difference between a healthy debate between differing opinions, even when that debate is heated! However, once things devolve into personal attacks and vindictiveness, it’s no longer constructive. In fact, it’s no longer a conversation.

    Your blog is great, and I look forward to reading what you have to say in the future!

  2. March 2, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Wow, my previous comment doesn’t make as much sense as I thought it did. Should’ve proofread. Hope my point still comes across. My point was debate is good; meanness is bad.

  3. Kelly
    March 3, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Don’t worry Jess! I think we all feel strongly about these big life decisions, and it’s difficult to think much about how other people make their choices without getting defensive and scared that maybe your way isn’t the best (or the only) way to go about things. Most of the time meanness stems from fear! We women are too hard on each other!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

